This Coaching and Training Resource is maintained and updated by Masters Swimming Tasmania.  Updates and comments are encouraged.     Please email MST with suggestions for additional content.

The NSW Branch of MSA has a well developed coaching resources page which is worthwhile consulting for additional coaching and training resources.


Our Coaches

Masters Swimming Tasmania has eight nationally accredited coaches.


2019 MST Director of Coaching
Philip Tyrell
(to 2 June 2022, Coaching ID 0542)



Adam Fergusson
(to 2 June 2022, Coaching ID 0537)


John Pugh
(to June 2022, Coaching ID AMCH 0069
also Swimming Australia Development Accreditation
Issued 15 March 2021. Expires 14 March 2024)

Sharon Smith
(to 19 April 2025, Coaching ID 0541)

Steve Richards
(to 2 June 2022, Coaching ID 0540)


Maciej Slugocki
(to January 2023, Coaching ID 0574)


Ricky Homan
 (to 1 February 2024, Coaching ID 0604)

Peter Tonkin
(to November 2021, Coaching ID 0558)


Megan Stronach
(28 October 2024, Coaching ID 103978)

Technical contributions to this site are made by our accredited coaches Philip Tyrell and Steve Richards.