Posted on Friday 13th October, 2023

Hobart Aquatic Masters Revitalising

In the past few weeks Hobart Aquatic Masters have made some changes. Previously, our formal name was “The Hobart Aquatic Centre Masters Swimming Club” and we have now changed that to “Hobart Aquatic Masters”, which we feel will keep us easily recognisable. We have also gone through the process of incorporation, opened our own email account ( and commenced building a Committee with the three executive members already in place – Ian Shuey, President; Robyn Doyle, Secretary and Tony Forman, Treasurer (from left to right in the picture). In the next few weeks we will appoint other Committee members and perhaps even have a meeting.
This has all come about with Phil Tyrell deciding that he needed to step away from the Club administration. He and many other members have done much of the hard work to put the new arrangements in place. With three members (Jodie Bennett, Rebecca Laletin and Tony Forman) having completed the requirements for Club Coach Session Leader certification, we are looking forward to providing more support to swimmers from the pool deck. We are also aiming to promote greater open water swimming participation and, of course, plenty of opportunities for social interaction between members who swim at varying times during the week.