Posted on Monday 13th May, 2024

Results for Tasmanian Swimmers at the Darwin Nationals

  Jayde glitters in Darwin

Jayde Richardson (THB) was the standout Tasmanian at the recent MSA National Championships in Darwin, winning a staggering 7 gold medals and 2 silvers in the pool. She also was the second woman over the line in the 3.2 km open water swim, at the same time winning the gold medal in her age group.

Two of Jayde’s most noteworthy performances were record breaking swims in the 50 Free and 100 Breaststroke, where she broke two of the oldest Tasmanian records in the books. Her100 Breaststroke time of 1.26.58 broke the record of 1.27.33 set by Kathryn Hawkes (Osborn) in 1994, while her 50m Free time of 29.77 broke the record of 29.85 set by Rachel Fitzmaurice in 2000.


Hobart Aquatic’s Tony Forman also had a stunning meet, winning a gold medal every time he jumped in the pool – eight in all – plus a further gold in the 1.6klm open water swim. Tony made new Branch records in 50, 100 and 800 Freestyle and 50 (twice), 100 and 200 Back.

Anne Henderson (TAC) was amongst the medals winning 3 gold, 4 silvers and 1 bronze, as was Devonport Devil Rhys Fisher with 1 gold, 3 silver and 2 bronze.

Megan Stronach (THB) broke Branch records in the 100 Back and 800 IM, and came home with 2 silver medals and 3 bronze, with Fiona Redgrove (THB) and Amanda Duggan (THB) bringing home a silver medal each.