Hector Beverage –

Hector Beveridge was a founding member of Devonport Devils in 1981.

In recognition of his contributions to Masters Swimming Tasmania, Hector was awarded Life Membership in 1995 and was a recipient of the Australian Sports Medal in 2000.

The first swimming meet Hector attended was the National Championships in Melbourne in 1984 and that inspired him. Always ready to volunteer, Hector helped organize the first Tasmanian Summer Championships in 1985 and by the time he left Tasmania in 2013 he had competed in all 29.

Hector was President of the Devonport Devils in 1982, 1983, and 1984 and then again in 1995 and was the Club’s Publicity Officer 1986 and 1989 and on their committee until 1995 when he moved to Launceston.

At the Branch level, Hector was President of (the then) AUSSI Tasmania between 1985 and 1987 and then again in 1990 to 1993. He was also the Branch’s Fitness and Coaching Director in 1993. Hector contributed at the national level as the Tasmanian delegate to National Conference for four years and compiled the National Aerobic Trophy results over the period 1998 to 1992.

As an organizer in Tasmania, Hector was the Meet Director of the 1st Australian Masters Games Swimming competition in Devonport in 1987, and the Meet Director of Tasmanian Masters Games Swimming competitions in 1989, 91, 94 and 96.

Hector was also a member of the organizing committee for AUSSI National Championships in 1991 and Director of the open water swim, cooperating with Swimming Australia to conduct the Australian Swimming and Masters open water championship concurrently. [Editor’s note: to MST’s knowledge the only time that has happened.]

Hector was the Meet Director of numerous Tas Summer and Winter Championships and competed in all Summer Championships up to 2013 as well as most of the Tasmanian Winter and Long-Distance championships and at 12 National Championships.

Following his time with the Devonport Devils, Hector joined the Launceston lemmings club in 1995 and was a club committee member for many years and President for several. He was made a life member of Launceston in 2011.